Wednesday, July 9, 2014

July 24: Webcast - Are Abstract Technological Advances Patentable? Go Ask Alice - #MCLE

As amply suggested by the many opinions offered by the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Alice v. CLS Bank, in recent times, assessing patent claims for patent eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101 has seemed to entail uncertainty. The recent decision of the U.S. Supreme Court in Alice confirmed that uncertainty, but in holding a financial software-related patent not patent-eligible, did the Supreme Court lead us out of the darkness and into the light?
During the webinar, we will discuss the following:
  • A brief recounting of recent precedent and administrative guidelines addressing patent eligibility
  • A review of the immediate precedential gestation of the Alice decision
  • How Alice makes some things clear
  • Whether we are any closer to understanding what is unduly “abstract”
  • What content those drafting patent applications can add to their claims to increase the patent eligibility of a claim that may include abstract subject matter.
Title:
Are Abstract Technological Advances Patentable? Go Ask Alice
When/Where: 
July 24, 2014
9:00 am PDT / 10:00 am MDT / 11:00 am CDT / 12:00 noon EDT. Live webcast; registration required.
Speakers: 
Fitch Even partners Steven G. Parmelee and Nicholas T. Peters
Presented by: 
Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP
Credit: 
1 hr CLE CA/IL/NE; Other states may also reward credit upon attendee request.
Cost: 
Free. Registration required.
More Information and Registration