Tuesday, March 10, 2015

March 26: Webcast - PTAB Trial Practice: Insights from a Former USPTO Judge

Title:
With the rise of post-issuance proceedings, an increasing number of lawyers are presenting to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB) with little prior experience. Moreover, the makeup of the PTAB has changed significantly in the past four years, tripling in size from about 75 judges to over 225 judges, many of whom lack substantial judicial experience. That, along with the large backlog of ex parte and inter partes cases pending before the PTAB, can greatly affect post-issuance proceedings. So what should petitioners and patent holders know as they approach a post-issuance review? And what’s behind the relatively high fees in these proceedings?

During this program, Fitch Even counsel and former Administrative Patent Judge Kenneth W. Hairston will share his insights on trial practice before the PTAB, addressing these topics and more:
  • How to gain a judge’s attention in a post-issuance proceeding
  • How the backlog of PTAB cases may impact your post-issuance proceeding
  • Understanding the costs involved
  • How to work with PTAB trial practice rules to save time and money
  • Sound, effective approaches to conducting the litigation
Title:
PTAB Trial Practice: Insights from a Former USPTO Judge
When/Where:
March 26, 2015, at 9:00 am PDT / 10:00 am MDT / 11:00 am CDT / 12:00 noon EDT. Live webcast; registration required.
Speaker:
Fitch Even counsel former Administrative Patent Judge Kenneth W. Hairston
Presented by: Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP
Credit:
1 hr CLE CA/IL/NE; Other states may also reward credit upon attendee request.
Cost:
Free. Registration required.
More Information and Registration